Rhubarb Coffee Cake

rhubarb coffee cake_0613_04

This recipe comes from the family cookbook. It was listed as being my grandma’s. In a way I’m using her rhubarb. My mom got her rhubarb from my grandma’s garden, and I got mine from my mom. It’s a wonderful cake, that while says it’s for coffee, I say it goes great with some vanilla ice cream. I have made a couple of modifications to the recipe using applesauce and a combination of sugars and flours. Oh and it’s great if you need to use up some sour milk.

Rhubarb Coffee Cake

4 Tbsp butter
¼ c applesauce
18 tsp granulated sugarrhubarb coffee cake_0613_01
18 tsp raw sugar
1 egg
1 c sour milk
2½ c flour
1½ tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
2 c diced rhubarb
½ c brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon

Cream sugar, butter, applesauce, egg and vanilla. Add milk, flour, baking soda and salt. Stir in rhubarb. Put in greased 9×13 pan. Sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon. Bake 30 minutes at 350°. Best warm with ice cream. (At least that’s my preference, some people like it cold with ice cream or Cool Whip)

Right before it went into the oven.

Right before it went into the oven.

4 thoughts on “Rhubarb Coffee Cake

  1. Pingback: Vanilla Rhubarb Jam with Earl Grey Tea « Brooklyn Locavore

Leave a Reply

