My Garden part 1

Since moving into our first house, my husband and I have been making sad attempts at a garden. We were lucky enough to find a house that came with a small strip up the side of the yard ready for a garden, it even has asparagus. Now we are going into our third summer at the house and if it ever stops snowing we might be able to get going on this whole garden thing again.

Here’s the run down, year one: I tried planting multiple things in the same row. Cucumber, beans, and squash all crammed together did not go so well for a successful garden.

Year two: I made a map of what I was planting. Gave the plants with big leaves lots of space. Ended up a drought year and pretty much everything died. But had lots of small tomatoes resulting in bruschetta overload.

Year three: You get to join me on the adventure this year! I have bought seeds. Not sure if I have all the things I want, but like I said, it’s not the largest space. We had my dad till in the fall. We even took up the netting stuff for the tomatoes so the dirt should be fresh this year. I hope we can get it tilled once more before planting.

Instead of trying to plant seeds outside and hope things will grow, I will be using a starter kit inside with little dirts that will grow when watered. I will be keeping you posted on their progress.garden_0413_02

garden_0413_03

3 thoughts on “My Garden part 1

  1. Pingback: Getting ready! | Watch My Garden Growing

Leave a Reply

