Nut Free Bars

This recipe is a slight modification of one I found on Baking Obsession. I was searching for a snack that my co-worker could have that was nut free or at least tree nut free. This one happens to be both. It took some time to make and some of the ingredients are on the slightly pricier side, but if you have an allergy or just like making good snack bars this is a great recipe to try.

When I finished making this I kept it in the freezer, the bars still seemed a little sticky overall. My husband likes them more than I do since he’s more of a fruit guy and he doesn’t complain about them being sticky. Another note is that I use mostly organic foods, especially the fruits.

Nut Free Bars

1 c rice Krispies
¾ c puffed millet cereal
1/3
c steel cut oats
1/8 c sunflower seeds
1/8 c pepitas
1 Tbsp tahini
1 Tbsp ground flaxseed
¼ c raisins
2 Tbsp honey
3 Tbsp coconut oil
2 Tbsp maple syrup
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 Tbsp red raspberry preserves
¼ tsp sea salt
¼ c cranberries
5 prunes

Preheat oven to 325°. Line a 9×9 pan with parchment paper and baking oil.

In a large bowl combine all dry ingredients. In a small heavy saucepan combine the honey, oil, syrup,  preserves and salt. Bring to a boil over medium-low heat stirring constantly. Take off heat, whisk in vanilla. Pour mixture over dry ingredients. I finish mixing with my hands (I personally wear gloves). Press into the prepared pan. Bake for about 10 minutes until light golden.

Cool completely. Before cutting put in the freezer for 30 minutes to an hour, or overnight. Then cut the bars into squares. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

