Graham Crackers aka Cheesecake Crust

 
5/24/12: Let me preface this with, I am terrible with dough. Especially when it’s for something that should be a dessert. I have improved with pizza dough (see earlier post) but I have not even attempted pie crust. Anyway this is a recipe from Dining on a Dime again. This time for graham cracker crust. The purpose of making this is so that I can have a super made from scratch cheesecake. Not sure how it will work, since they seem to be a little less than crunchy (I’m thinking not rolled thin enough as some parts are crunchier).
 
So we will find out in the next couple of days how it works as a crust. I will most likely be blending them up instead of the standard meat pounder to break them up. If I remember I will post the cheesecake recipe as well. It’s a hybrid of 2 that I will be trying out for this weekend.
 
5/26/12: Sorry this post has been taking me a few days.. The graham crackers after sitting overnight became crunchier. I would still make them thinner the next time I attempt them. The cheesecakes are made (2 of the same hybrid) will be coming soon. So we’ll find out then how the graham crackers turned out, when I sampled some they were pretty tasty.
 

Graham Crackers from scratch

2.5-3 c flour (recipe calls for whole wheat, I use a blend of whole wheat, spelt and unbleached all purpose)
¼ c brown sugar
1 tsp baking powder
.5 tsp baking soda
¼
tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/3 c applesauce (home made, or oil (which is what the recipe called for))
1/3 c honey
1 Tbsp molasses (or dark corn syrup)
1 tsp vanilla
1/3 c milk (I used skim)

Combine the dry ingredients into a large bowl. Then combine the wet ingredients into a smaller bowl. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry and mix well. By the end you will need to mix with your hands. If the dough is too sticky add flour, too wet add milk. Preheat your oven to 300°. Divide the dough in half and roll onto 2 large cookie sheets. (My 9*13 was a bit small (not sure what my second tray size was) since rolling thin is good, they do puff up).

You want to cut lines making squares however large you would like. Then prick with a fork, or if you’re using the fancy Pampered Chef double sided roller it has a thing for pricking dough attached. Anyway, bake for 15-25 minutes, mine took more like 30, again roll THIN! Remove from oven once brown on edges (more brown than what it started). Let cool and store in an airtight container, or like me ground up for cheesecake crust. Makes 4-4 ½ cups of crumbs.

2 thoughts on “Graham Crackers aka Cheesecake Crust

  1. Pingback: Cheesecake to Celebrate Mother’s Day! | recipe 2 recipe

  2. Pingback: Patriotic Cheesecake | Photos, Cooking and Crafts

Leave a Reply

