Healthy Snack Mix

Healthy Snack Mix aka Chex Mix

Starting on goal one of the weekend. Making Chex Mix® for the week. My husband and I a while back started reading labels especially the ingredients. We came to find out Chex Mix® prepackaged not the best for you. I know that most of those ingredients are still in the cereal, but makes us feel better by making it.  So while reading through Taste of Home: Healthy Cooking I found a recipe for a new type of snack mix. Below you will find my version of the mix.

I don’t always have the right things on hand, so I improvise with what I normally do have. I know the original recipe called for peanuts, but I make a trail mix with peanuts and apparently the hubby was getting a little peanutted out during the day with 2 of his snacks containing peanuts. I have taken these out so now I believe this recipe is just fine for people with nut allergies to eat. Another thing with this recipe, I’m not always brand loyal, so this time around I have Crispix and Chex (wheat and corn). And now without further ado…

For my latest take on Taste of Home’s Healthy Snack Mix you will need:

2 c Crispix
1 c wheat Chex
1 c corn Chex
1 c (roughly) pretzels, I use regular twists and break them up after measuring.
2 Tbsp olive oil
1 tsp Worcestershire (this time original)
¼ tsp coarse sea salt
OPTIONAL for extra kick (these can be any amount, I would suggest 1/4 tsp or less)
couple of turns of the pepper grinder
crushed red pepper flakes
Jamaican jerk seasoning
chipotle seasoning
I would also recommend gloves for stirring, the whole toss to coat thing is just a joke to me.

Preheat the oven to 350°. You will need 2 bowls, one really big and one not so big. In the bowl gently stir (with your hands so you won’t break everything) the cereal and pretzels. In the small bowl, mix everything else. For these I would use a spoon. Once mixed pour over the cereal mixture, try to cover most of it. Then put on gloves, if you want, then mix everything until it’s all covered.

Now get out a large baking sheet, the smallest should be 9×13 if that’s all you have. I cover mine with some parchment paper to help with cleanup, but that’s optional. Spread out the mixture as close to a single layer as you can and put in the oven for about 10 minutes. Keep a close eye on it as the cereal can burn easily. Once done to your desired crispness remove from oven, and turn it off. Let the pan cool on a hot pad or wire rack, then store in an airtight container. 1/2 cup servings are just under 100 calories. Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Healthy Snack Mix

    • I hope you had a chance to try it out and that it was good! I end up tweaking it every time, depending on how spicy I want it. Sometimes it has quite a kick!

  1. Pingback: Homemade snack mix | Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a military household

Leave a Reply

